Skip to content
View as Markdown

Workspace Administration ​

A Workspace is the top-level namespace in the Tailor Platform for your organization, containing all applications, including each Tailor Platform service. Since changing workspace settings affects all the applications within the workspace, only Platform users have permission to manage workspaces.

You can use the interactive mode of tailor to view all the options available for workspace management by running the following command.

bash
tailor workspace
  Commands:
  workspace app                   Manage workspace applications
  workspace create                Create a new Tailor Platform workspace.
  workspace delete                Delete a Tailor Platform workspace.
  workspace get                   Show detailed information about a workspace
  workspace list                  List all Tailor Platform workspaces.
  workspace restore               Restore a deleted workspace
  workspace user                  Manage workspace users

Platform users with an admin role can create a new workspace, manage workspace users, and delete the workspace.

By default, a maximum of 10 workspaces can be created per organization.

What is the Platform user? ​

The Platform user is the user who can log in to Tailor Platform using the following command:

bash
tailor login

When you sign up for an account, we create a Platform user with an admin role for you to manage your workspace. Please note that the users you add to your application are not Platform users and therefore cannot manage your workspace.
To add a new Platform user, you can invite anyone with a Tailor Platform account to your workspace using the following command:

bash
tailor workspace user invite --email $userEmailAddress --role $(admin|editor|viewer)

Depending on the role assigned, the Platform user will have different permissions to manage workspaces.

Platform User Permissions ​

There are three roles for the Platform user: admin, editor and viewer.

admin ​

The admin role can manage all workspace and application settings.

editor ​

The editor role can manage all application settings but cannot manage workspace settings.
However, editor users have read permission for the workspace settings they belong to.

viewer ​

The viewer role can only view all application and workspace settings.

Here's a list of permissions for each role: ​

Permissionadmineditorviewer
Workspace
Create a workspace✅
Describe a workspace✅✅✅
Delete a workspace✅
Restore a workspace✅
Invite users to a workspace✅
Remove users from a workspace✅
Update platform user role✅
List workspaces✅✅✅
List services✅✅✅
List machine users✅✅
List platform users✅✅✅
Delete services✅
List oauth2 clients✅✅

Deleting and restoring a workspace ​

Platform users with an admin role can destroy a workspace using the following command:

bash
tailor workspace delete -w {WORKSPACE_ID}

If you need to restore a destroyed workspace, you can do so within 2 weeks of deletion using the following command:

bash
tailor workspace restore -w {WORKSPACE_ID}

After 2 weeks, all data associated with the workspace will be permanently removed and cannot be recovered.